TL;DR
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The FDA approved Roche’s satralizumab (Enspryng) as an at-home subcutaneous treatment for adults with thyroid eye disease. Trial results included improvements in proptosis and double vision in SatraGO-2, while SatraGO-1 missed its prespecified primary endpoint at week 24.
The FDA has approved satralizumab (Enspryng) for adults with thyroid eye disease, Roche announced Thursday, making it a subcutaneous treatment that patients or caregivers can administer at home after training. The approval adds an injection option for a condition whose other approved nonsurgical treatments are given by intravenous infusion.
Satralizumab is a humanized monoclonal antibody that binds to soluble and membrane-bound interleukin-6 receptors, inhibiting IL-6-mediated signaling involved in inflammation. The approval was based on the phase III SatraGO-1 and SatraGO-2 trials, which enrolled 258 patients across 19 countries. The source report says SatraGO-1 did not meet its prespecified primary efficacy endpoint at week 24.
In SatraGO-2, among patients with active thyroid eye disease, 52.9% of those receiving satralizumab had a reduction in proptosis of at least 2 millimeters, compared with 23.4% receiving placebo. A reduction in diplopia, or double vision, was reported in 60.7% versus 25.8%, respectively. The report says results were consistent in the overall trial population, which included people with active and chronic disease; it does not provide additional overall-population figures.
The dosing schedule starts with injections at weeks 0, 2 and 4, followed by maintenance doses every four weeks. Roche said no new safety signals were identified in the trials and that the safety profile was consistent with satralizumab’s known profile in neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorder. Common adverse events in the report included upper respiratory infections and increased alanine aminotransferase, a liver enzyme. The drug’s prescribing information warns of infection, reduced neutrophil counts and elevated liver enzymes.
A Home Injection Option for TED
The approval gives adults with thyroid eye disease a treatment route that can be used at home after instruction from a health professional. Roche’s announcement and the report distinguish this from the two other approved nonsurgical treatments named in the source, teprotumumab (Tepezza) and veligrotug (Lumvoa), which are administered by infusion and target a different receptor pathway.
That difference could affect the practical burden of treatment: injections at home may reduce the need for infusion visits for some patients. César A. Briceño, MD, of the Scheie Eye Institute at the University of Pennsylvania, said in a statement from Roche that a subcutaneous option could offer greater flexibility for patients and physicians and reduce logistical demands associated with infusion-based therapies. The approval does not establish that every patient will be eligible for or benefit from the treatment; individual treatment decisions depend on clinical circumstances and the prescribing information.
The disease can affect eye position and movement, as well as cause pain and swelling. The trial outcomes reported for proptosis and diplopia therefore relate to symptoms that can substantially affect daily life. However, the supplied report does not describe the size or durability of benefit beyond the stated trial measures, so those results should not be read as a guarantee of improvement for an individual.
at-home thyroid eye disease injection supplies
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Trials and Existing Treatment Choices
Thyroid eye disease, also called Graves’ ophthalmopathy, is an inflammatory autoimmune condition commonly associated with hyperthyroidism. Symptoms can include eye redness and swelling, eyelid retraction, a staring appearance, proptosis, double vision and pain. The source report describes the condition as rare and notes that symptoms can be debilitating, disfiguring and potentially blinding.
Before this approval, the report identified two other approved nonsurgical treatments: teprotumumab and veligrotug. Both are given intravenously and act on the insulin-like growth factor 1 receptor. Satralizumab works through IL-6 receptor inhibition instead. It was already approved in 2020 for neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorder, according to the report, and Roche is studying it in additional neurologic, autoimmune and inflammatory diseases.
The evidence supporting the new use comes from two phase III studies, but their results were not identical: SatraGO-1 missed its prespecified primary endpoint, while the report gives positive comparisons for selected outcomes in SatraGO-2. The supplied material does not give the full trial protocols or detailed results for both studies, limiting what can be concluded from the summary alone.
““The availability of an effective subcutaneous treatment option could provide greater flexibility for both patients and physicians while reducing the logistical burden associated with infusion-based therapies.””
— César A. Briceño, MD, Scheie Eye Institute at the University of Pennsylvania, in a statement from Roche
Safety and Benefit Questions Remain
The report does not provide the full FDA review, the complete results for SatraGO-1, or detailed data on how long the observed improvements lasted. It also does not specify how the agency weighed the missed primary endpoint in SatraGO-1 alongside SatraGO-2 when granting approval. Those details would help readers assess the evidence beyond the figures reported here.
Safety monitoring is part of treatment. Satralizumab is contraindicated in people with active or untreated latent tuberculosis and active hepatitis B. The prescribing information warns of infection risk, decreased neutrophil counts and elevated liver enzymes. Screening for hepatitis B, tuberculosis and liver transaminases is required before the first dose. The source does not provide rates for these risks in the thyroid eye disease trials or describe how the treatment compares with alternatives on safety.
It is also unclear from the supplied material which patients are most likely to be offered satralizumab, how access and cost will work, and whether the FDA approval carries limitations beyond treatment of adults with thyroid eye disease. Patients should discuss treatment choices and monitoring with a qualified healthcare professional.
Prescribing and Monitoring After Approval
With FDA approval announced, clinicians and patients can refer to the drug’s prescribing information for eligibility, dose timing, contraindications and required screening. Patients or caregivers must receive training from a healthcare provider before administering injections at home. The schedule begins at weeks 0, 2 and 4, then continues every four weeks.
For patients considering treatment, the next practical steps are to review the risks and expected benefits with their clinician, complete the required tuberculosis, hepatitis B and liver tests, and establish monitoring for infection, blood-cell counts and liver enzymes. The supplied source does not state when commercial availability, pricing or insurance coverage will be established.
Roche also said satralizumab is being studied in other neurologic, autoimmune and inflammatory diseases. Those investigations are separate from the thyroid eye disease approval; the source provides no timelines or outcomes for them. Further trial publications or regulatory information could clarify the full evidence base and how clinicians should weigh the treatment against existing options.
Key Questions
What did the FDA approve?
The FDA approved satralizumab (Enspryng) for adults with thyroid eye disease. It is given as a subcutaneous injection that a patient or caregiver can administer at home after training from a healthcare provider.
How often are the injections given?
The reported schedule is an initial dose at weeks 0, 2 and 4, followed by maintenance injections every four weeks.
What did the phase III trials report?
In SatraGO-2, 52.9% of participants with active disease receiving satralizumab had at least a 2-millimeter reduction in proptosis, compared with 23.4% on placebo. Reductions in diplopia were reported in 60.7% and 25.8%, respectively. The report also says SatraGO-1 missed its prespecified primary endpoint at week 24.
What screening is required before treatment?
The prescribing information requires screening for hepatitis B, tuberculosis and liver transaminases before the first dose. The drug is contraindicated for people with active or untreated latent tuberculosis or active hepatitis B, according to the report.
How does satralizumab differ from other approved nonsurgical treatments?
The report says teprotumumab and veligrotug are administered intravenously and target the insulin-like growth factor 1 receptor. Satralizumab is a subcutaneous IL-6 receptor inhibitor that can be self-administered at home after training.
Source: rss
Cold & flu season Picks
humidifiers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
