Raw vegan omega-3 supplements usually source EPA and DHA from algae rather than fish, but formulas differ in dose, serving size, flavor, and how clearly they state those amounts. My best overall pick is Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels for its stated 1210 mg EPA and DHA, while Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil stands out as a clearly labeled alternative and Micro Ingredients offers a large-count bottle for shoppers prioritizing supply. The main tradeoffs are concentrated EPA/DHA versus lower or DHA-focused formulas, plus capsule count and flavor preferences. “Raw” is not a standardized guarantee of a particular nutrient level, so I’d compare the supplement facts panel rather than rely on that label alone. Read on for the full breakdown of all 14 options and the criteria that separate them.
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- EPA and DHA disclosure separates the clearest contenders. Nordic Naturals’ 1210 mg EPA and DHA listing makes its dose easier to compare than products whose supplied names do not state amounts.
- Two Nordic Naturals products serve different dose priorities. The Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels list 1210 mg EPA and DHA, while Algae Omega lists 715 mg vegan EPA and DHA.
- Large bottle counts are useful only when serving size is clear. Micro Ingredients lists 240 softgels and Sapling lists 180, but buyers still need to check the label’s servings per day to judge how long each bottle lasts.
- Not every plant-based omega-3 is an EPA-and-DHA algae formula. Nature’s Bounty is described as plant-based, while Purity Products is an omega 3-6-9 formula; check the ingredient source and exact fatty acids if algae-derived EPA and DHA are the goal.
- Flavor and formula focus shape the shortlist. NatureBell and Micro Ingredients specify lemon flavor, while Freshfield is described as DHA-focused, giving shoppers alternatives to a general EPA-and-DHA softgel.
| Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Algal Oil Softgels, 120 Count | ![]() | Best for a Large Bottle | Supplement type: Vegan Omega-3 | Source: Marine algae | Active fatty acids: DHA and EPA | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Softgels, Lemon Flavor, 120 Count | ![]() | Best for a Multi-Fatty-Acid Blend | Count: 120 vegetarian softgels | Serving size: 3 softgels | Algal oil per serving: 1,250 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels, 1210 mg EPA + DHA, 60 Count | ![]() | Best for a High Stated EPA + DHA Amount | Source: Algae | Omega-3 content: 1,210 mg EPA + DHA | Form: Soft gels | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nordic Naturals Algae Omega, 715 mg Vegan EPA and DHA, 60 Count | ![]() | Best for Certified-Vegan Assurance | EPA and DHA: 715 mg | Source: Microalgae | Count: 60 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Omega-3 Softgels, 30 Count | ![]() | Best for a One-Softgel Routine | Form: Softgels | Count: 30 | Source: Algae oil | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Freshfield Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil DHA Supplement | ![]() | Best for a Measured DHA-and-DPA Formula | Omega-3 source: Microalgae cultivated in controlled tanks | DHA per softgel: 225 mg | DPA per softgel: 40 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sapling Vegan Algae Omega-3 Supplement, DHA and EPA, 180 Softgels | ![]() | Best for a Higher Stated DHA-and-EPA Serving | Omega-3 source: Algae oil | Omega-3s per serving: 550 mg | DHA per serving: 300 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA | ![]() | Best for Shoppers Prioritizing Testing and Dietary Exclusions | Omega-3 source: Microalgae | Omega-3 fatty acids: DHA and EPA | Algae origin: USA | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Supplement with DHA and EPA | ![]() | Best for a Stated Combined DHA-and-EPA Amount | Omega-3 source: Algae oil | Omega-3 per serving: 550 mg | DHA and EPA per serving: 450 mg combined | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Purity Products Omega 3-6-9 Vegan and Vegetarian Formula | ![]() | Best for a Multi-Oil Plant-Based Blend | Type: Vegan Omega 3-6-9 supplement | Form: Vegetarian softgel | Key ingredients: Flaxseed oil, extra virgin olive oil, borage oil, pomegranate oil, sacha inchi seed oil | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Softgels, Lemon Flavor, 240 Count | ![]() | Best for Broad Fatty-Acid Coverage | Count: 240 vegetarian softgels | Serving size: 3 softgels | Algal oil per serving: 1,250 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sapling Vegan Omega-3 Supplement with DHA and EPA, 60 Softgels | ![]() | Best for Odor-Conscious Beginners | Source: Algae oil | Omega-3s per serving: 550 mg | DHA per serving: 300 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, 1020 mg, 60 Plantgels | ![]() | Best for Plant-Based Capsule Materials | Source: Sustainable algae oil | Omega-3 per serving: 1,020 mg | Count: 60 plantgels | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, 60 Softgels | ![]() | Best for Third-Party Testing Priority | Form: Softgels | Count: 60 | Source: Algae oil | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| raw vegan omega 3 supplement | Count | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Algal O | 120 | Marine algae |
| NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae | 120 vegetarian softgels | — |
| Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 | 60 | Algae |
| Nordic Naturals Algae Omega | 60 | Microalgae |
| Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Om | 30 | Algae oil |
| Freshfield Vegan Omega-3 Algae | — | — |
| Sapling Vegan Algae Omega-3 Su | — | — |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with D | — | — |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Supple | — | — |
| Purity Products Omega 3-6-9 Ve | — | — |
| Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega- | 240 vegetarian softgels | — |
| Sapling Vegan Omega-3 Suppleme | — | Algae oil |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 | 60 plantgels | Sustainable algae oil |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil | 60 | Algae oil |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Algal Oil Softgels, 120 Count
Amandean stands out for its 120-count bottle and tapioca-based softgels, a useful combination for buyers seeking a fish-free option without carrageenan. Its algae supplies both DHA and EPA in natural triglyceride form, while the USA-grown, non-GMO source adds detail about where the algae comes from. Compared with NatureBell Vegan Omega-3, however, Amandean does not provide per-serving fatty-acid amounts, so it is harder to judge potency from the supplied product details. It also offers less formulation information than the Nordic Naturals options, which specify third-party testing. The tradeoff is a straightforward, high-count algae-oil product with a tapioca softgel base, but limited dose transparency. I would choose it for its bottle size and capsule ingredients, not for a clearly quantified EPA/DHA dose.
Pros:- Provides plant-based DHA and EPA from marine algae
- Uses carrageenan-free tapioca softgels
- Algae is described as non-GMO and grown in the USA
- 120 softgels per bottle
Cons:- DHA and EPA amounts per serving are not provided
- Purity testing is described without specific testing details
- Listed health benefits are not accompanied by supporting evidence in the supplied product information
Best for: Vegan shoppers who want a 120-count algae-oil supply and prefer carrageenan-free tapioca softgels.
Not ideal for: Dose-focused buyers who need stated DHA and EPA amounts per serving to compare potency.
- Supplement type:Vegan Omega-3
- Source:Marine algae
- Active fatty acids:DHA and EPA
- Molecular form:Natural triglyceride form
- Form:Softgels
- Count:120
- Softgel base:Tapioca
- Other attributes:Carrageenan-free; non-GMO algae grown in the USA
Our verdict“Choose Amandean if a large bottle and tapioca softgel base matter more to you than a clearly stated EPA/DHA dose.”
NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Softgels, Lemon Flavor, 120 Count
NatureBell is the most explicit blend in this group: one stated serving combines algae oil and flaxseed oil to provide DHA, DPA, and ALA, alongside a lemon flavor. That broader fatty-acid profile sets it apart from Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Omega-3, which lists EPA and DHA amounts but not DPA or ALA. The tradeoff is the three-softgel serving; buyers who prefer a simpler daily routine may find Nature’s Bounty’s one-softgel dose easier. NatureBell also lists exclusions such as soy, dairy, gluten, preservatives, colors, and tree nuts, which can help shoppers screen the formula. Its stated DHA and DPA amounts make dose comparison easier, though the listed ALA amount is modest relative to the blend. This pick suits buyers who value ingredient detail and multiple plant-derived omega-3s over fewer capsules.
Pros:- Provides stated amounts of DHA, DPA, and ALA
- Combines algal oil with flaxseed oil
- Lemon flavor and fish-free formula
- Carrageenan-free and listed as free from several common allergens and additives
Cons:- Serving size is three softgels
- Includes a standard dietary supplement disclaimer and does not claim to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease
Best for: Vegan supplement shoppers who want stated DHA, DPA, and ALA amounts and are comfortable taking three softgels per serving.
Not ideal for: People seeking a one-capsule routine or a formula with fewer softgels per serving.
- Count:120 vegetarian softgels
- Serving size:3 softgels
- Algal oil per serving:1,250 mg
- DHA per serving:500 mg
- DPA per serving:100 mg
- Flaxseed oil per serving:80 mg
- ALA per serving:40 mg
- Flavor and dietary attributes:Lemon; vegan, fish-free, carrageenan-free, non-GMO
- Free from:Soy, dairy, gluten, preservatives, colors, and tree nuts
Our verdict“Pick NatureBell if you want a clearly quantified blend of DHA, DPA, and ALA and do not mind three softgels per serving.”
Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels, 1210 mg EPA + DHA, 60 Count
Nordic Naturals gives buyers a clear combined EPA and DHA figure: 1,210 mg, paired with algae oil in triglyceride form. That dose transparency makes it easier to compare than Amandean, which does not list amounts for either fatty acid. It is also third-party tested and avoids artificial colors and flavors, making its quality and ingredient details more explicit than the supplied information for several alternatives. The main limitation is that EPA and DHA are not broken out separately, so buyers targeting a particular balance cannot confirm it from these details. Its 60-count bottle is also smaller than the 120-count options from Amandean and NatureBell. I would rank it highly for shoppers prioritizing a stated combined dose and third-party testing, while those who want a larger supply or a complete fatty-acid breakdown may prefer another pick.
Pros:- States 1,210 mg combined EPA and DHA
- Uses algae-derived omega-3s in triglyceride form
- Third-party tested
- Non-GMO, gluten-free, dairy-free, and made without artificial colors or flavors
Cons:- EPA and DHA amounts are not listed separately
- 60-count bottle is smaller than the 120-count Amandean and NatureBell options
Best for: Vegan buyers who prioritize a stated combined EPA and DHA amount and third-party testing over a larger bottle.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who need separate EPA and DHA amounts or want a 120-count bottle.
- Source:Algae
- Omega-3 content:1,210 mg EPA + DHA
- Form:Soft gels
- Count:60
- Molecular form:Triglyceride
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO, gluten-free, and dairy-free
- Flavor and color additives:Made without artificial colors or flavors
Our verdict“Choose this Nordic Naturals formula if a high, stated combined EPA/DHA amount and third-party testing are your priorities.”
Nordic Naturals Algae Omega, 715 mg Vegan EPA and DHA, 60 Count
This Nordic Naturals option pairs a stated 715 mg of EPA and DHA with American Vegetarian Association vegan certification, giving label-conscious buyers a clear source and suitability signal. It also has third-party testing and is free from gluten, dairy, artificial colors, and preservatives. Compared with the other Nordic Naturals algae formula in this lineup, its stated combined EPA/DHA amount is lower than that product’s 1,210 mg, so it is less suited to shoppers seeking the largest listed dose. The description does not specify separate EPA and DHA quantities or the molecular form, leaving less detail for precise dose matching. Its strengths are certification and a defined combined amount, not maximum potency or full fatty-acid disclosure. I would favor it over Amandean when vegan certification and a stated dose matter more than bottle count or a tapioca softgel base.
Pros:- Provides a stated 715 mg of combined EPA and DHA
- Certified vegan by the American Vegetarian Association
- Third-party tested and non-GMO
- Free from gluten, dairy, artificial colors, and preservatives
Cons:- Lower stated combined EPA/DHA amount than the other Nordic Naturals option listed here
- Separate EPA and DHA amounts are not provided
- Molecular form is not specified in the supplied product details
Best for: Vegan shoppers who want a certified-vegan algae supplement with a stated combined EPA and DHA amount.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking the highest stated EPA/DHA amount in this group or separate amounts for each fatty acid.
- EPA and DHA:715 mg
- Source:Microalgae
- Count:60
- Certification:American Vegetarian Association certified vegan
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Other attributes:Non-GMO
- Free from:Gluten, dairy, artificial colors, and preservatives
Our verdict“Choose Algae Omega if vegan certification and a stated combined dose matter more than a higher listed EPA/DHA amount.”
Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Omega-3 Softgels, 30 Count
Nature’s Bounty has the simplest stated routine here: one softgel provides 1,000 mg of algae oil and 520 mg of omega-3 fatty acids, including 510 mg of EPA and DHA. That makes it easier to understand and take than NatureBell Vegan Omega-3, whose serving calls for three softgels. The tradeoff is the bottle size: 30 softgels give buyers fewer servings than the 60-count Nordic Naturals products or the 120-count options. Its supplied details also do not separate the EPA and DHA amounts, limiting precise comparison with formulas that provide individual figures. For a buyer who wants a compact, one-softgel daily option with a stated omega-3 amount, this is the clearest fit. It is less compelling for shoppers who want a larger supply, third-party testing details, or a wider fatty-acid blend.
Pros:- One softgel provides 520 mg of omega-3 fatty acids
- Lists 510 mg of EPA and DHA per softgel
- Algae oil provides a plant-based, vegan-friendly source
- One-softgel daily dose is simpler than NatureBell’s three-softgel serving
Cons:- 30-count bottle provides fewer softgels than the other listed options
- Separate EPA and DHA amounts are not provided
- The supplied product details do not include third-party testing information
Best for: Vegan shoppers who prefer a one-softgel routine and want the amount of total omega-3 listed per softgel.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a larger bottle, separate EPA and DHA amounts, or a formula that also lists DPA and ALA.
- Form:Softgels
- Count:30
- Source:Algae oil
- Algae oil per softgel:1,000 mg
- Omega-3 fatty acids per softgel:520 mg
- EPA and DHA per softgel:510 mg
- Dietary suitability:Vegan-friendly
Our verdict“Pick Nature’s Bounty if a one-softgel routine and stated per-softgel omega-3 amount matter more than bottle size or detailed fatty-acid breakdown.”
Freshfield Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil DHA Supplement
Freshfield is the clearest choice for shoppers prioritizing DHA while still wanting a stated amount of another omega-3: each softgel supplies 225 mg DHA and 40 mg DPA. Its microalgae source, hexane-free enzymatic extraction, and carrageenan-free tapioca shell give buyers more detail about sourcing and processing than the listings for Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA, which do not state a dose. Compared with Sapling Vegan Algae Omega-3, Freshfield provides less disclosed omega-3 per serving and does not list EPA, so it is a narrower fit rather than a broad DHA-and-EPA pick. The suggested one-to-two-softgel routine offers some dose flexibility, but the subtle marine aroma may bother scent-sensitive users. A certificate of analysis is available only on request, so verification is less convenient than a product that makes testing details readily available.
Pros:- Provides specific amounts of DHA and DPA per softgel.
- Uses fish-free microalgae cultivated in controlled tanks.
- Hexane-free enzymatic extraction and a carrageenan-free tapioca shell.
- Suggested use of one to two softgels allows some daily dose flexibility.
Cons:- EPA is not listed, unlike Sapling Vegan Algae Omega-3.
- A subtle marine aroma may be noticeable.
- Certificate of analysis is available only on request.
Best for: Vegans who want a clearly stated DHA dose, some DPA, and a carrageenan-free softgel.
Not ideal for: Shoppers seeking a disclosed DHA-and-EPA combination or readily accessible batch testing; EPA is not listed and the certificate of analysis must be requested.
- Omega-3 source:Microalgae cultivated in controlled tanks
- DHA per softgel:225 mg
- DPA per softgel:40 mg
- Suggested use:1 to 2 vegan softgels per day
- Softgel shell:Tapioca; carrageenan-free
- Processing:Hexane-free enzymatic extraction
- Dietary attributes:Vegan, non-GMO, fish-free
- Manufacturing:North America
Our verdict“Choose Freshfield if a clearly labeled DHA-and-DPA formula matters more than a stated EPA dose or easy access to testing documents.”
Sapling Vegan Algae Omega-3 Supplement, DHA and EPA, 180 Softgels
Sapling stands out for its stated 550 mg of omega-3s per serving, including 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA, making its profile more balanced than Freshfield’s DHA-and-DPA-focused softgel. The 180-softgel bottle and U.S.-grown algae also give it a practical appeal for buyers who want a larger supply with a disclosed domestic source. A peppermint-scented pack is included to help address fishy odors, though it does not change the formula itself. The main catch is that the product description does not specify serving size, making it harder to tell how many softgels deliver the listed amounts or compare daily use with Freshfield’s one-to-two-softgel guidance. Shoppers who need that information clearly stated may prefer a label with a defined dose per capsule.
Pros:- Lists 550 mg total omega-3s per serving, including 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA.
- Uses sustainably grown algae from the United States.
- Includes 180 softgels in the bottle.
- Peppermint-scented pack is included to help reduce fishy odors.
Cons:- Serving size is not specified in the product description.
- The listed 550 mg total is not fully accounted for by the stated DHA and EPA amounts.
- Peppermint scent may not appeal to users who prefer unscented products.
Best for: Vegans seeking a substantial stated DHA-and-EPA serving and a larger bottle, who are comfortable checking the label for serving details.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need the softgel count per serving clearly provided before choosing; the listed nutrient amounts lack serving-size context.
- Omega-3 source:Algae oil
- Omega-3s per serving:550 mg
- DHA per serving:300 mg
- EPA per serving:150 mg
- Softgels:180
- Algae grown in:United States
- Bottled in:United States
- Facility:GMP certified and FDA registered
- Fish oil:Fish oil free
Our verdict“Pick Sapling for its stated DHA-and-EPA amounts and larger bottle, but confirm the serving instructions if capsule-level dosing matters to you.”
Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA
This pick’s strongest case is its stated third-party testing alongside vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, and carrageenan-free attributes. It uses sustainably sourced microalgae grown in the USA and includes both DHA and EPA, which makes it a broader omega-3 option than Freshfield, whose listed amounts focus on DHA and DPA. But this listing gives no dosage or serving-size information, so buyers cannot judge how much of either fatty acid they would get or compare its potency with Sapling’s stated 550 mg per serving. The description also frames health outcomes as potential support rather than giving a specific nutrient amount. I’d treat it as a fit-first choice for people who value dietary exclusions and testing claims, not for anyone selecting a supplement by dose.
Pros:- Provides a fish-free, plant-based source of both DHA and EPA.
- Made from sustainably sourced microalgae grown in the USA.
- Carrageenan-free, non-GMO, and gluten-free.
- Product description states that it is third-party tested.
Cons:- No dosage or serving-size information is provided.
- The amounts of DHA and EPA are not disclosed.
- Health benefits are described as potential support rather than tied to stated quantities.
Best for: Vegan shoppers avoiding gluten or carrageenan who value a stated third-party testing claim and do not need dosage details to make a choice.
Not ideal for: Dose-focused buyers comparing DHA or EPA amounts; neither serving size nor omega-3 quantity is provided.
- Omega-3 source:Microalgae
- Omega-3 fatty acids:DHA and EPA
- Algae origin:USA
- Dietary attributes:Vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free
- Carrageenan:Free
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Manufacturing:GMP-manufactured
Our verdict“Choose this if testing and dietary attributes lead your checklist, but pass if you need to compare supplements by disclosed DHA and EPA doses.”
Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Supplement with DHA and EPA
This formula gives dose-focused shoppers a useful headline figure: 550 mg omega-3s per serving, including 450 mg DHA and EPA. That makes it easier to compare with Freshfield, which provides specific DHA and DPA amounts per softgel but does not list EPA, and with the other Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil listing, which names DHA and EPA without quantities. Its carrageenan-free, non-GMO, vegan formulation and third-party testing claim add useful selection criteria. The limitation is that the description does not break the 450 mg down between DHA and EPA, and it does not disclose the serving size. Sapling, by comparison, states separate DHA and EPA amounts but also leaves serving size unclear. Buyers who need ingredient-level precision should look for a more detailed label.
Pros:- Lists 550 mg total omega-3s per serving.
- States that 450 mg per serving comes from DHA and EPA combined.
- Vegan algae oil formula is non-GMO and carrageenan-free.
- Product description states that it is third-party tested and GMP-manufactured.
Cons:- Does not disclose separate DHA and EPA amounts.
- Serving size is not provided in the supplied product details.
- The listed 550 mg total is not fully accounted for by the stated 450 mg of DHA and EPA.
Best for: Vegans comparing supplements by total omega-3 and combined DHA-plus-EPA amounts, without needing a separate breakdown for each fatty acid.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who need to know DHA and EPA individually or want the softgel count in each serving stated upfront.
- Omega-3 source:Algae oil
- Omega-3 per serving:550 mg
- DHA and EPA per serving:450 mg combined
- Carrageenan:Free
- GMO status:Non-GMO
- Dietary attribute:Vegan
- Manufacturing:GMP-manufactured
- Testing:Third-party tested
Our verdict“Choose this for a stated combined DHA-and-EPA quantity, but select a more detailed label if you need each fatty acid amount or capsule-level directions.”
Purity Products Omega 3-6-9 Vegan and Vegetarian Formula
Purity Products takes a different route from the algae-focused options: its five-oil blend combines flaxseed, olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi oils rather than naming microalgae as its source. That makes it a fit for buyers specifically seeking a broader plant-oil formula, while Freshfield is more direct for shoppers who want stated DHA and DPA amounts from algae. The LemonLock freshness system is intended to help maintain freshness, and the product is described as made in FDA-inspected, cGMP-compliant facilities with third-party certification. The tradeoff is that the supplied details do not state quantities of omega-3, DHA, or EPA, so its ability to meet a targeted DHA-and-EPA intake is difficult to compare with Sapling. Its range of oils also creates more potential conflicts for people with seed or fruit allergies.
Pros:- Combines five plant oils: flaxseed, olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi.
- Offers a vegetarian softgel alternative to fish oil.
- LemonLock technology is intended to help maintain freshness.
- Described as FDA-inspected, cGMP-compliant, and third-party certified.
Cons:- No amounts of omega-3, DHA, or EPA are provided in the supplied details.
- The multi-oil blend may not suit people with specific seed or fruit allergies.
- Does not identify algae as its source, unlike the DHA-and-EPA algae options in this roundup.
Best for: Vegetarians or vegans seeking a multi-oil plant-based 3-6-9 formula and who do not require a disclosed algae-derived DHA-and-EPA dose.
Not ideal for: Buyers targeting a clearly quantified DHA-and-EPA serving or avoiding specific seed and fruit oils.
- Type:Vegan Omega 3-6-9 supplement
- Form:Vegetarian softgel
- Key ingredients:Flaxseed oil, extra virgin olive oil, borage oil, pomegranate oil, sacha inchi seed oil
- Freshness technology:LemonLock freshness system
- Certifications:FDA-inspected, cGMP compliant, third-party certified
- Plant-oil blend:Omega 3, 6, and 9 oils
Our verdict“Choose Purity Products for a varied plant-oil 3-6-9 blend, but choose an algae formula if disclosed DHA and EPA amounts are your priority.”
Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Softgels, Lemon Flavor, 240 Count
Among these four, Micro Ingredients stands out for listing three omega-3 types: each three-softgel serving supplies 500 mg DHA, 100 mg DPA, and 40 mg ALA, alongside algal and flaxseed oils. That makes its formula more explicit about fatty-acid variety than Sports Research Vegan Omega-3, whose provided data gives a total but not individual fatty-acid amounts. The lemon flavor may suit people who dislike a marine taste, and its vegan, fish-free, carrageenan-free formula avoids several common allergens and additives. The tradeoff is a three-softgel serving, so it asks for more capsules per dose than buyers seeking a simpler routine may prefer. Its 240-count bottle also does not change that serving-size commitment.
Pros:- Lists amounts for DHA, DPA, and ALA per serving
- Lemon flavor offers an alternative to unflavored softgels
- Vegan, fish-free, and carrageenan-free
- Free from soy, dairy, gluten, preservatives, colors, and tree nuts
Cons:- Serving requires three softgels
- EPA is not listed among the supplied fatty-acid amounts
Best for: Vegan supplement shoppers who want listed DHA, DPA, and ALA amounts and prefer a lemon-flavored formula.
Not ideal for: People who want to take one or two softgels per serving, or who need EPA specifically listed.
- Count:240 vegetarian softgels
- Serving size:3 softgels
- Algal oil per serving:1,250 mg
- DHA per serving:500 mg
- DPA per serving:100 mg
- Flaxseed oil per serving:80 mg
- ALA per serving:40 mg
- Flavor:Lemon
- Dietary features:Vegan, fish-free, carrageenan-free, non-GMO
Our verdict“Choose Micro Ingredients if you value clearly stated DHA, DPA, and ALA amounts more than a low capsule count.”
Sapling Vegan Omega-3 Supplement with DHA and EPA, 60 Softgels
Sapling is the most approachable fit for odor-conscious buyers in this group: its algae-based formula provides 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA per serving, and a peppermint-scented pack is included to help avoid fishy odors. Compared with Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega-3, Sapling lists EPA rather than DPA and ALA, making it a more direct match for shoppers specifically seeking DHA and EPA. Its algae is grown in the United States, and the product is made in a GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility. The main limitation is missing serving-size information, which makes it harder to judge how many softgels deliver the stated 550 mg of omega-3s. The supplied details also do not give a full fatty-acid breakdown beyond DHA and EPA.
Pros:- Algae-based and provides both DHA and EPA amounts
- Peppermint-scented pack is intended to help avoid fishy odors
- Algae is grown in the United States
- Produced in a GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility
Cons:- Serving size is not specified in the supplied product details
- The stated fatty-acid breakdown covers DHA and EPA but not other omega-3 types
Best for: First-time vegan omega-3 buyers who want stated DHA and EPA amounts and are sensitive to fishy odors.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who need a clearly stated capsule count per serving or a more detailed breakdown of all omega-3 fats.
- Source:Algae oil
- Omega-3s per serving:550 mg
- DHA per serving:300 mg
- EPA per serving:150 mg
- Origin:Algae grown in the United States
- Packaging:60 softgels
- Facility:GMP-certified and FDA-registered
- Additional feature:Peppermint-scented pack
Our verdict“Pick Sapling if odor management and clearly stated DHA and EPA matter more than a fully specified serving routine.”
Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, 1020 mg, 60 Plantgels
Sports Research puts capsule material front and center: its softgels use plant-based tapioca rather than gelatin, a useful distinction for strict vegans who want the capsule itself to fit their diet. The product provides 1,020 mg of omega-3s per serving and carries non-GMO verification and vegan certification. Compared with Sapling Vegan Omega-3, it gives a higher stated total omega-3 amount, but Sapling supplies specific DHA and EPA figures while Sports Research’s supplied details do not break down individual fatty acids. That gap makes it harder to compare the dose of the fats a buyer may be targeting. Its formula avoids carrageenan, corn starch, sorbitol, and fillers, though shoppers seeking a lemon flavor or a stated DHA/EPA split should look elsewhere.
Pros:- Plant-based tapioca softgels avoid gelatin
- Provides a stated 1,020 mg of omega-3s per serving
- Non-GMO verified and vegan certified
- Free from carrageenan, corn starch, sorbitol, and fillers
Cons:- Individual DHA and EPA amounts are not specified in the supplied details
- No flavor information is provided for shoppers seeking a flavored option
Best for: Strict vegan shoppers who prioritize plant-based softgel materials, certifications, and a stated total omega-3 amount.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need separate DHA and EPA quantities to compare doses or choose a targeted fatty-acid balance.
- Source:Sustainable algae oil
- Omega-3 per serving:1,020 mg
- Count:60 plantgels
- Capsule material:Plant-based tapioca
- Certifications:Non-GMO verified; vegan certified
- Free from:Gelatin, carrageenan, corn starch, sorbitol, and fillers
Our verdict“Choose Sports Research if plant-based capsule materials and certification matter more to you than a detailed DHA/EPA breakdown.”
Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, 60 Softgels
This algae-oil option makes quality testing its clearest selling point: the supplied details say it is third-party tested for heavy metals and microbes, with manufacturing in a GMP-certified facility in the USA. It provides algae-derived DHA and EPA in fish-free softgels, a straightforward fit for buyers moving away from fish oil. Compared with Sapling Vegan Omega-3, it shares the DHA-and-EPA focus but does not provide amounts per serving, so Sapling is easier to evaluate by dose. Its 60-softgel count is specified, while the missing omega-3 quantities leave a central buying question unanswered. I would shortlist it for shoppers who prioritize the stated testing and manufacturing details, but buyers comparing potency should favor an option with disclosed amounts.
Pros:- Fish-free algae-derived source of DHA and EPA
- Third-party tested for heavy metals and microbes
- Made in the USA
- Manufactured in a GMP-certified facility
Cons:- DHA and EPA amounts per serving are not provided
- The supplied details do not state serving size
Best for: Vegan buyers who prioritize stated third-party testing for heavy metals and microbes over dose-by-dose comparison.
Not ideal for: Dose-focused shoppers who want to compare DHA and EPA quantities before choosing a supplement.
- Form:Softgels
- Count:60
- Source:Algae oil
- Omega-3 fatty acids:DHA and EPA
- Manufacturing:Made in the USA
- Quality testing:Third-party tested for heavy metals and microbes
- Facility:GMP-certified
Our verdict“Consider this product if its stated testing and manufacturing details lead your decision, but choose Sapling if disclosed DHA and EPA amounts are a priority.”

How We Picked
I compared the 14 listed products by the details that affect a plant-based omega-3 purchase: whether algae is named as the source, whether EPA and DHA amounts are stated in the product information, whether the formula appears focused on DHA or combines EPA and DHA, and the listed capsule count and flavor. I gave more weight to products with clearly stated EPA and DHA because that information lets buyers compare formulas without guessing from total oil weight or marketing language.
The ranking favors options with a clear algae-based EPA/DHA proposition and useful dose information, then accounts for practical differences such as bottle count and lemon flavor. Products with less specific supplied descriptions rank lower because buyers cannot establish dose or source as readily from the information provided—not because an undisclosed detail proves the formula is inferior. I also treat “raw” as a buyer search term, not proof of a regulated processing standard; the actual label and manufacturer details matter.
| raw vegan omega 3 supplement | Source |
|---|---|
| Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Algal O | Marine algae |
| NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae | — |
| Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 | Algae |
| Nordic Naturals Algae Omega | Microalgae |
| Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Om | Algae oil |
| Freshfield Vegan Omega-3 Algae | — |
| Sapling Vegan Algae Omega-3 Su | — |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with D | — |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Supple | — |
| Purity Products Omega 3-6-9 Ve | — |
| Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega- | — |
| Sapling Vegan Omega-3 Suppleme | Algae oil |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 | Sustainable algae oil |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil | Algae oil |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Raw Vegan Omega 3 Supplements
Before choosing among raw vegan omega-3 supplements, I’d start with the label details that product names often leave out. These checks help distinguish a high-count bottle from a genuinely comparable daily dose and prevent a plant-based claim from being mistaken for a specific EPA-and-DHA formula.
Compare EPA and DHA Per Serving, Not Total Oil
The number that helps compare omega-3 formulas is the amount of EPA and DHA per serving, not just the total algae oil or softgel weight. A product can list a large oil amount while giving less detail about its active fatty acids, making comparisons difficult. Check whether the label reports EPA and DHA separately or only as a combined figure, then compare using the same serving basis. Avoid assuming that a higher milligram number means a better fit; the amount you want depends on your diet and personal needs. If you have a health condition, take medication, or are pregnant, ask a qualified clinician about an appropriate intake before choosing a concentrated product.
Verify the Source and What “Vegan” Means on the Label
For an algae-based product, look for algal oil or a named algae source in the ingredient list, not just a vegan claim on the front. Plant-based omega-3 products can use different sources and may not provide the same mix of fatty acids as algae-derived EPA and DHA. Some products emphasize DHA, while others state both EPA and DHA; that distinction matters if you are choosing a formula to match a particular dietary goal. Check capsule ingredients too, since a vegan oil does not automatically tell you what the capsule shell or other ingredients contain. When source information is missing, contact the manufacturer rather than inferring it from the product name.
Treat “Raw” as a Claim to Verify, Not a Dose Standard
“Raw” does not tell you how much EPA or DHA a serving contains, and the phrase alone does not establish a consistent processing standard across brands. Buyers can get sidetracked by the word and overlook the supplement facts, ingredient list, or storage directions. Look for clear manufacturer information about sourcing and processing if those details matter to you, and distinguish that information from a general raw or natural label. Also check the product’s handling instructions, since oil-based supplements may have storage requirements after opening. If a product makes a strong processing claim without explaining it, treat that as a question to verify rather than a reason to pay more.
Match Capsule Count to Servings Per Day
A bottle with more softgels does not necessarily last longer if its suggested serving uses multiple capsules. Compare servings per container and the number of softgels per serving, not bottle count alone. This is especially useful when weighing the 240-count Micro Ingredients and 180-count Sapling bottles against smaller-count options. A larger bottle may suit someone who already knows they tolerate the formula, while a smaller supply can be a lower-commitment way to check capsule size and fit. Do not increase or reduce the labeled serving solely to make a bottle last longer without getting appropriate guidance.
Choose the Formula Around Your Dietary Pattern
Omega-3 supplements are not a substitute for checking what your usual meals provide. If your goal is specifically algae-derived EPA and DHA, a general plant-based or omega 3-6-9 blend may not match that preference, so inspect the fatty acid sources and amounts. A DHA-focused formula may also differ from a product listing both DHA and EPA; neither label alone says which is right for every buyer. Consider your regular intake of omega-3 foods and discuss individual targets with a clinician when your needs are medical or pregnancy-related. This step can prevent paying for a broader blend when you wanted a specific algae-based nutrient.
Check Flavor, Capsule Fit, and Quality Information
Flavor and capsule format affect whether a supplement fits into a routine, even when the nutrient panel looks suitable. Lemon-flavored options such as NatureBell and Micro Ingredients may appeal to shoppers who prefer a flavored product, while others may favor an unflavored softgel. Check the label for serving directions and any storage guidance, and look for accessible manufacturer information on testing and quality controls. A pleasant flavor does not confirm EPA/DHA potency, just as a large bottle does not establish quality. When a listing lacks testing or sourcing details, ask the brand for documentation before treating that gap as a minor detail.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does “raw” mean a supplement contains more EPA and DHA?
No. “Raw” does not specify EPA or DHA content, so it cannot substitute for the supplement facts panel. Compare the amount per serving and check whether the product lists both fatty acids or focuses on DHA. Processing claims may matter to some buyers, but they do not establish potency by themselves. If the label does not explain what raw means for that formula, ask the manufacturer for details.
How do I compare a product listing combined EPA and DHA with one that lists them separately?
A combined figure tells you the total stated EPA plus DHA, but not how that amount is divided between the two. Separate amounts offer a clearer view if you are comparing a DHA-focused formula with one that includes both fatty acids. Check that you are comparing the same serving size and daily serving directions. If a listing provides only a headline number, use the full supplement facts panel or manufacturer information before deciding it is equivalent to another product.
Is a plant-based omega-3 or omega 3-6-9 formula the same as algae EPA and DHA?
Not necessarily. “Plant-based” can refer to different ingredient sources, and an omega 3-6-9 blend is not automatically a concentrated algae-derived EPA-and-DHA supplement. Read the ingredient list for algal oil and the supplement facts for the specific fatty acids and amounts. If you specifically want vegan EPA and DHA, a broad blend may not meet that goal. Confirm unclear sources with the manufacturer rather than relying only on the front label.
Should I choose the largest bottle to get the best value?
Not based on softgel count alone. Check servings per container, softgels per serving, and EPA/DHA per serving before comparing bottle sizes. A 240-count bottle may last less time than expected if the labeled daily serving takes several capsules, and a large supply is less useful if you have not checked capsule fit or flavor. A smaller bottle can make sense when trying a formula for the first time. Compare the usable daily servings rather than the headline count.
What should I check before taking an algae omega-3 supplement with medication or during pregnancy?
Ask a qualified healthcare professional to review the specific product and your circumstances before starting it. Bring the label, including EPA and DHA amounts, serving directions, and any added ingredients, so the discussion can focus on the actual formula. Do not assume that vegan or algae-based means appropriate for every medication, pregnancy, or health condition. A clinician can help decide whether supplementation fits your diet and whether a particular dose is suitable. Follow their advice instead of changing the serving on your own.
Conclusion
For most shoppers, Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels is my best overall pick among these listings because it states 1210 mg EPA and DHA, giving buyers a useful comparison point. For a dose-conscious alternative, Nordic Naturals Algae Omega lists 715 mg vegan EPA and DHA; Micro Ingredients is the best value-style choice for shoppers who prioritize a 240-softgel bottle, provided its label confirms a serving size that suits them. Beginners may prefer starting with a smaller-count option such as Nordic Naturals Algae Omega rather than committing to a large bottle. For a specific preference, NatureBell or Micro Ingredients offer lemon flavor, while Freshfield is the DHA-focused option in this lineup. Before buying any of them, check the full supplement facts, algae source, serving directions, and quality information; those details matter more than the word “raw” alone.














